Like: That I Had No Idea It Was Ash Wednesday

Growing up Boston Irish Catholic could be… difficult.

If you’ve seen any movie on the subject my statement above is self-explanatory.  I even have a couple horror stories. Also, I’m actually Scottish, but make no mistake I grew up Boston Irish Catholic.

So consider my delight when I turned on Around The Horn and saw Tony Reali and Bill Plashke with their Ash Wednesday… smears(?) on their forehead. I had completely lacked all awareness of its approaching date. This is a good thing.

I used to be able to give you a speech on Ash Wednesday and what it meant, but I have since forgot because of great effort not to revisit my childhood memories of Catholicism.

So let’s go to wiki!:

“In the Western Christian calendar, Ash Wednesday is the first day of Lent and occurs forty-six days (forty days not counting Sundays) before Easter. It falls on a different date each year, because it is dependent on the date of Easter; it can occur as early as February 4 or as late as March 10.”

and:

“Ashes are imposed on the foreheads of the faithful (or on the tonsure spots, in the case of some clergy). The priest, minister, or in some cases officiating layperson, marks the forehead of each participant with black ashes in the shape of a cross, which the worshipper traditionally retains until washing it off after sundown. The act echoes the ancient Near Eastern tradition of throwing ashes over one’s head to signify repentance before God (as related in the Bible).”

So that was interesting.

I think instead of giving something up I’m going to add something. I’m going to start drinking alcholol.

Just kidding. I already drink.

So I’ll just drink more.

UPDATE: After reading the first couple of sentences of this post my bastard friend wrote the following:

“I’m now 100% sure you were raped by a priest”

That did not happen. I did, however, know people who were. The Catholic church’s response to which, was unforgivable.

Leave a Reply

