Like: DRAG ME TO HELL

Oohhhhh boy.

Sam Raimi is cinematic sadist. It must be that simple right? I’m not a giant horror guy or anything. I kinda had my elementary school horror phase and it went out somewhere along the line too. But every now and then I love to go see fun horror movies. None of the torture nonsense. Irony laden slasher stuff is kind of a meh to me too.  I’m talking entertaining, funny, gross-out stuff. Stuff like Slither. And historically, the top notch example of the delirious horror comedy is the Evil Dead Trilogy. Sam Raimi just does it better than anyone else. There’s no getting around it. He kind of left the genre to go make spider-man films for a decade and while that’s been, you know, also fun, I’ve really missed the sadistic horror Raimi.

Well. He’s back. And he’s still got it.

DRAG ME TO HELL is outrageously good. It’s squirm in your seat for an hour and half good. It’s holy shit this scene is hilarious good. It’s wow these performances are really good for this kind of movie good. Its that is genuinely freaky image good. It’s wow that’s a hitchcock open good.

The less  I say the better in terms of describing any scenes so I’ll just let it suffice to say, this is great and maybe even important stuff (to the genre, not like, the earth).

Cause no offense to other horror directors, but this guy just walked in the room and showed you how its done. And you should be shamed. We’ve gotten so far away from this kind of movie. It sucks really. No one saw Slither so it didn’t swing the genre back in that direction, but if enough people go see this thing (and I hope they do, there’s been a lot of critical support) then hopefully we can move horror back to the “spook a blast”, a term Raimi coined for this movie. I want to start seeing clones. I want to see fun horror movies. I hope to see a generation of elementary school kids aping the shit out of this  because… well… it’s just a lot more fun then watching some idiot teenagers get tortured for two hours.

2 Responses to Like: DRAG ME TO HELL

  1. urkidding? says:

    WTF!? IT IS SO BAD THAT EVERYBODY IN THE MOVIE THEATHER STARTED LAUGHING…. SRSLY IT WAS THE WORST MOVIE I HAVE EVER SEEN! DO NOT GO AND WATCH IT, IT IS A WASTE OF YOUR WELL EARNED MONEY!!!!!!

  2. mgss says:

    Haha. I also hope you are kidding. It’s a horror/comedy. Laughing is the freaking point. Way to understand these things we call “movies”

Leave a Reply

