Like: Arrested Devlopment, Revisited (Part 1)

So me and the stuff-I-like gal have been going back and revisiting Arrested Development.

This is a good thing.

The show holds up absurdly well, not only terms of repeat viewings, but not feeling stale (yeah it’s only been like 5-6 years, but you’d be amazed how sensitive to that a lot of people can be).

And there’s nothing really to say about the show that hasn’t already been said, but who cares? I love it.

The writing is just so tight and focused. I can’t tell you enough how uncommon that is in a comedy. I’ve been racking my brain trying to think of something AD was similar to; sure The Simpsons works only because that show was infinitely witty and can be compared favorably to just about anything. But the best direct comparison I can think of is old Preston Sturges movies. There’s the same cyclical focus, repetition, and interests in absurdist, selfish human behavior. Sometimes they even have the same run-on joke style. I’ve been really happy since I thought of this and am suddenly interested in digging out my old Sturges movies too.

More conclusions and stuff to come in a part 2.

But I just think everybody should keep revisiting Arrested Development if they have a chance. It may seem redundant, or not exactly cutting edge proclamation or anything. But it’s one of those truly great things. Maybe I feel bad cause I was letting it slip out of my consciousness a bit.

I mean COME ON.

2 Responses to Like: Arrested Devlopment, Revisited (Part 1)

  1. Cory says:

    A few months ago me and 3 friends watch all of season 2 in 2 days, a couple of us had already seen each episode twice. We all caught things we’d never noticed before. SO DENSE and SO FUNNY.

  2. stuff-i-like gal says:

    I love re-watching AD; the situational comedy is brilliant and there are so many great performances in it. I completely forgot about Heather Graham!

Leave a Reply

